Loving my brother in speech

I had a discussion with a brother in Christ today in which I think I inadvertently upset him. I don’t really know because he rushed away and didn’t say anything. My plan is to try to talk with him later today or tomorrow to mend anything that I did wrong and understand what was going on in his heart.

Since that time I’ve been thinking a lot about how to avoid carelessness in my speech. I’m not talking about actual sin, just not being as intentional with my speech and word choice as I could be to produce the most edifying result in those that would hear me.

I am very pleased to know that the Lord has been working on me. Some of you know that I have a Facebook account and I like to chime in and relate to people on it. Several times in the last weeks I have typed in something responding to someone’s post only to delete it before ever posting it. The Bible says we need to take every thought captive to make them obedient to Christ and it must be so with our words (which are just a verbal expression of our thoughts).

Leave a Reply

