Shameless book plugs

Okay so I just want to visit cyberspace to plug two books that have been helpful to me the past few weeks.

The first is my my pastor, John Crotts, called Craftsmen. The premise of the book is that in the arenas where men operate, we should strive to be skilled craftsmen. My whole review is available on Amazon (and hopefully one day DiscerningReader.com).  http://www.amazon.com/Craftsmen-Christ-Centered-Proverbs-John-Crotts/dp/0976758237/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1251721757&sr=8-2

The second is a book you should not read if you believe you are living the good Christian life. It is Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges. Jerry has written many well known books over the years but I really think this is the best thing I’ve read by him. He is so transparent about his own “respectable” sins like anxiety, frustration and doctrinal pride. It has basically torn me to shreds on a number of fronts and I am better for it. You can get this book just about anywhere.

If there’s a book that has been meaningful to you this year (secular or spiritual) feel free to leave a comment.

One thought on “Shameless book plugs

  1. Yvonne August 31, 2009 / 1:17 pm

    Robert and I have recently read a great book – “Safely Home” by Randy Alcorn. It is a fictional story based on fact about persecution of Christians in China. It is EXCELLENT! Right now, I am reading Alcorn’s book “Heaven” and it is also GREAT – makes me long for heaven and my precious Lord.

Leave a Reply

