Blackberry Woes

In an effort to remind myself that pride goes before destruction, I tried to “fix” my blackberry curve last night. I have not been overly careful with it and the top of the faceplate was cracked and broken from all the times I’ve dropped it so I got a new faceplate on eBay and figured I would be set. After all, there’s a guy on YouTube showing how to take them apart so how could I go wrong?

Well, let me see how my pride showed up in the process:
1 ) Did not read anything in advance about the process of doing this
2) Did not do homework on the best place to find replacement parts – went straight to eBay because of course I know that eBay would be cheapest (it wasn’t)
3) Did not think about the fact that one of the screws needed to keep the housing together was in my office because I knew I could make it work with only one screw
4) When it arrived, I didn’t even watch the whole YouTube video once thru to figure out the whole process and what obstacles I might face
5) Of course, when things wouldn’t move the way I wanted them to in the disassembly, I just forces them because I couldn’t do anything to harm it
6) While I watched a video on taking it apart, I didn’t look at a single resource about putting it back together because I knew I could do it
7) I started this whole “repair” at 11:05pm because I knew I could finish it quickly and get to bed in short order

I suppose it could go on if I were truly introspective and less groggy. Suffice it to say I was up later than I wanted to be last night not only not repairing the modest problem with my blackberry, but actually making things considerably worse. Now I have to order a whole new housing (not just the faceplate) and new screws (which I stripped) and start from scratch, which is perhaps what I should have done all along. Or maybe, just maybe, I should have taken the thing to someone who has actually opened one up before to ask for help instead of believing myself to be perfect and invincible.

How many other ways does this kind of pride show up. They are as many as the sands on the beach. Of course the most devastating way my pride shows up is in the many times and many ways it insults God. Of course I can grow spiritually when I miss days in God’s word. Of course I will be a blessing to people when I’m not praying for them regularly. Of course I can do just this one little sin and have it make no impact on my walk with the Lord or with fellow believers. Of course I can treat my wife like I would never treat any other sister in Christ and expect it to have no lasting results.

All these demonstrations of pride are much worse than my silly blackberry which can be fixed for another $30 in parts and a more patient approach. These sins have consequences that are eternal – they require payment because a holy God says that all sin must be punished. Each time I do them I add to the weight of sin that had to be paid for by Jesus on the cross. In one sense it’s true that Calvary happened 2000 years ago so the sin was already paid for by the time I did it, but is that the response you want to give when you see Him in Glory, Christian? Well Lord, since in my time/space continuum you had already died on the cross I figured it was no big deal. I also can’t forget that my sin – even if it’s not directed at anyone else – has an impact on the body of Christ. Annias and Saphira’s lying about how much of their money they gave the 1st century church didn’t impact anyone but their own walk with God and yet God killed them for it.

2 thoughts on “Blackberry Woes

  1. Charlie September 13, 2009 / 2:07 am

    Interesting, I`ll quote it on my site later.
    Thank you

  2. JimmyBean October 1, 2009 / 9:48 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

